You Never Know Until You Try

Peach trees that blew over on the farm. These are kept in a greenhouse during cooler months and pulled out in the Spring.

Peach trees that blew over on the farm. These are kept in a greenhouse during cooler months and pulled out in the Spring.

Hurricane Arthur did some major damage here in Nova Scotia.  There are still some people without power in the province.

My daughter and I were out in the yard picking up blowdown from the giant willow tree that neighbors our house.  Our landlord ( who is a nice fellow, by the way) drove slowly by and joked with my daughter about needing to use a chainsaw.  There are girls who are comfortable with such tools but my daughter is not one of them.

As he drove on , busy with lots of clean up on the farm, he grinned and said, “There’s always a first time for everything…”

So True, I thought and this inspired me to share one of my earliest ever oil paintings .  I think this was painted some time in the early nineties….no, not the 1890’s, ha!  Compare it to a painting of a chicadee I did in acrylic only a few years later.  No.  This is not to boast  ( or maybe, hmmm) but to show you that practise and desire can improve an outcome.  After-all… there has to be…a first time for everything!

two_compare_water

 

6 comments on “You Never Know Until You Try

    • Thanks Marcia! There were over 30 trees knocked over and they were on the lee side of the hill but the wind changed direction later. Of course there were some young peaches scattered about but still some on the trees.

  1. Hi Kevin…just sitting down from supper for a break and there you are to brighten up my evening. I have seen the chickadee one in person and I think this is the first of the tree and I just love it. Both are great works of yours and as a loyal supporter of yours I feel the need to comment regardless of my artistic intelligence but to just let you know what you do is well done. Hope all is well and back to normal. Keep the interesting work coming…

  2. FROM BARB ( sorry for the mix-up I had to re-post under my name- Kevin)
    Barb 5m
    Hi Kevin…just sitting down from supper for a break and there you are to brighten up my evening. I have seen the chickadee one in person and I think this is the first of the tree and I just love it. Both are great works of yours and as a loyal supporter of yours I feel the need to comment regardless of my artistic intelligence but to just let you know what you do is well done. Glad your daughter didn’t tackle the willow tree with a chainsaw. Don’t like those things. Hope all is well and back to normal. Keep the interesting work coming…

Leave a Reply

