I Get By With…

MebyWallYou said it, “…a little help from my friends!”  Here’s a better picture below of the final.  I’m looking a little serious in the photo above most likely because it was taken in the early hours of the morning.  It may not look like much from a distance but once I got started it took me 16 hours non-stop to paint it.

truefinalpic

This shot shows the finished  job.  I didn’t get a close shot of the Venetian Gold stroke or outline that was around all the letters. This was likely taken around 1:30 am.  Contractors were coming to install the stair railing the next morning and the platform ( which the carpenters put together for me) would be disassembled .

So at the clients request the entire slogan was hand painted with the aid of lots of blue tape.  I used transparent Contact paper which is very low tack for some of the curves and letters.  I bought it at Home Depot for about 14 dollars a roll.  The “S” letters and “R”‘s and any with a curve were stencils I made at home with the contact paper.

Tip:  Always use Blue low tack painters tape so as not to damage the original base coat of paint. ALSO:  I found that using only the outside stencil of letters with large curves like “P” or “D”as a guide ( one straight edge) -as you can see below-   I could simply stroke with a brush the inner curve- that is,  you only have to pay attention to painting one straight edge while the right or outer-side would naturally be straight.  This may sound confusing.  In other words the curve in “D” has contact paper cut to the shape only of the outside of the curve.  The inside (the counter) space can be freehand painted fairly straight since you don’t have to worry about the other edge as you paint.  I improvised this while actually doing the project in order to save time.  Wherever  you use contact paper it is a good idea to brush on a clean coat of sealer ( Like Jo Sonja’s) to seal any edges.  Unlike low tack painters tape the contact paper doesn’t seal as good even if it is rubbed down and paint can seep under your edges and leave a crude , irregular edge of paint when you pull off the stencil (contact paper).

All in all it was a good time and the client was very personable and easy to work with.  We had some great life conversations way past midnight.  He set up some music and  we both enjoyed  the likes of Cream and Led Zeppelin. Poor guy had to stay up late as well.  I don’t usually do this kind of work anymore…gettin’ old ha! It’s not like drawing with computer where you can make mistakes and quickly erase them or just painting over them on your easel.

 I had to use a paint dryer (like a hair dryer) to speed things up.  Fortunately the plumbers were there that day and one heard me murmur something about a dryer and he volunteered their dryer used for thawing frozen pipes.  That was a blessing!! ha!

Here are a few more close up shots for ya.  Hopefully this post hasn’t bored you to eternal sleep!  Thanks for visiting…I always appreciate it. Take care , have fun and be safe!

Friends

Friends2

4 comments on “I Get By With…

Leave a Reply

