The meaning of life

Well no, the ‘Meaning of Art’ perhaps.  The title was just to get your attention.

Recently I Googled “no really, what is the best way to sell art” or something like that.  The idea of someone owning my art fascinates me. At times I pursue the problem of selling art with the list approach much like one does when they prepare to go fishing.  Do you have bait? Yes.  Check.  Do you have the fishing line? Yes. Check .  And so on.

There are a myriad of suggestions and no shortage of advice from the experts that will help you sell your work.

For example, “stand up and don’t sit down” while selling your art. “Use the colour red in the painting.”  “Paint with oil paints instead of watercolour because they sell better.”  So the list goes on.  It’s a left brain world where mortgages and rent come every 30 days so I have to paint and sell my quota in order to survive ( or so the story goes)  and yet…yet, the real moment of romance comes when the person viewing your art simply likes it.  They like it because it excites them or moves them in some metaphysical way that goes beyond explanation.  It was most likely the painting in which you too felt no less ecstatic while creating it.  In some way beyond our understanding the soul that you breathed into your work now possesses that person enjoying your art.

Is it possible that people will buy your work even if you don’t like the subject?

The wonderful thing about the world we live in is that anything is possible.  It does happen.  The same way in which the ordinary, unskilled person may perform an emergency, life saving operation and yet not really proceed to acquire the title of Doctor.

I named my post dishonestly to get your attention.  However you likely sensed soon that I was joking or being light-hearted about it.  You forgave my dishonesty.  I don’t think we forgive dishonest artists who want to be taken seriously.

The one thing any artist needs above technique or posturing, etc is to ( drum roll) like what they do!  I for one am going to review not my selling skills but my Honesty. Honesty, Integrety and Truth. These three are one.

I think connecting with people via any art form is most effective when the art,the thing created, came from some deeper place inside you. It’s the very essense of art. Like they say (generally) a baby will be born when the baby decides!  Not when the nurse , doctor or some convenient hour of the day should decide.  Yes there is labour involved. Practise, practise, practise. Think, think ,think. When that painting arrives it will come almost unstoppable as if all the stars, galaxies and suns have clicked into place and time like a great cosmic, cogged machine.  It will possess you!  These , in my experience, are the works of art that seem to connect most with people.  It’s happened to me in a small way and to many other artists as well.

For me I’m going to throw away for now that bullwhipped idea of focus and rather concentrate more on discovery.  I want to know what I like the most.  To fall in love with it over and over again.

Here are some thoughts and questions I hope to consider in the pursuit of my true art.  If you have any suggestions or ideas then by all means feel free to post.

It is possible to like more than one subject or medium and that is okay.

Generally one form of artistic/creative medium will be predominate –  the thing you become most known for.

If you’re not happy/satisfied with something it could be your ‘gut’ (creative instincts) telling you something is wrong.  Listen to your subconscious and then consciously and objectively try to find out what that is. eg. I started getting bored of 2D and then decided to experiment with 3D/prop -like art.

The thing your best at may be what you like the most.

Any ideas on discovering the art or medium you love the most….?

Leave a Reply

