On Letting Go ( and moving on)

Sometimes it’s better to let go than to hang on.  This is a lesson that I’ve had to learn many times. It’s natural and seems somehow prudent to hang on to something you treasure much.

I live on a farm.  Among many of God’s critters here there are rabbits that are cared for by the owners of the farm. Recently the rabbit cage, known to me as Bunny Central became compromised and many escaped.

One cute little guy found his way to my doorstep.

We already have our own pet rabbit called Bogie ( yes, named after Humphrey Bogart).  This new little rabbit has a either a birth defect or had a broken arm that healed wrong. His right forearm is bent and his left appears short.  It’s hard to turn away a cute little bunny like that.  So we improvised a home where our winter wood is to be stored.  We named him Pippin.

Realistically we don’t have the room since we already care for Bogie.  It’s an added expense too for an artist trying to live frugally.  What’s more is it appears Pippin may be pregnant. We just don’t have the resources to look after him…er, I mean her. Pippin has to go back to her home with the other bunnies.

Hanging on can be more painful than letting go.

As I took  an early morning walk up the hill behind my house I remembered how as a young boy ( I think about the age of 5 or 6) my cousin and I were sleighing one winter on the hill where I used to live -many years ago ;^).   My Mother watched as myself at the head of the toboggan and my cousin who sat behind me began gaining speed and veering off course as we bullitted downward.

 I can still see her waving her arms and shouting as I looked over my shoulder.

I had no idea she was yelling “Roll off, roll off !”.  I hung on.  My cousin peeled off causing me to move even faster.  I hit a barbed wire fence and cut the inside of my upper lip.  A scar, unnoticed but yet still exists there today.  Sometimes letting go is better than hanging on.

As artists we find ourselves facing maybe a painting that seems to be dragging on into oblivion.  We ask ourselves, “Should I scrap this and paint over it or keep at it?”  Sometimes we face a gallery or show that just doesn’t seem to be working out.  It’s natural to want to hang on.  It’s natural to feel that something in our grasp is better than possibilities of something more by just letting go. I don’t know what it is you are hanging on to but you know your heart might be saying “Let go.”

bye Pippin.

2 comments on “On Letting Go ( and moving on)

Leave a Reply

